Menu Close

QuantHEP Seminar, Jesse Thaler

Date: November 3, 2021

New session of the QuantHEP Seminar – Quantum Computation and High-Energy Physics Seminar:

Title: Quantum (Inspired) Algorithms for Collider Physics

Speaker: Jesse Thaler (MIT)

Date: Wednesday 3 November 2021

Time: 17h00 Brussels = 16h00 Lisbon = 12h00 Rio de Janeiro = 11h00 New York = 8h00 San Francisco = etc.

VenueQuantHEP Seminar YouTube channel

Abstract: Particle physicists have developed numerous classical algorithms to process data from high-energy particle collisions.  Computational efficiency is an important criteria for selecting collider data analysis strategies, which is often weighed more heavily than physics performance.  Could quantum algorithms change the kinds of analysis tools we use for collider physics?  Could quantum principles like superposition and unitary inspire new kinds of classical algorithms?  Drawing on examples from the study of jets from quantum chromodynamics, I explain some of the conceptual challenges for developing quantum algorithms for collider physics and some of the quantum-inspired advances that have already found applications.

To receive announcements, subscribe to the QuantHEP Seminar mailing list.

For more details, see: https://quanthep-seminar.org/